David Mitchell: Black Swan Green

BlackSwanGreen

Start: 16.12.12 – Finish: 19.12.12

The story of Jason Taylor age 13 told over the course of a year from his own perspective. I don’t know what more to tell you.

The language takes some getting used to, especially if you’re not familiar with ’80s english teen expressions.

The last David Mitchell I’ve read was The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet which I bought by accident not knowing that this was the same author who sucked me in so badly with Cloud Atlas. That one took it’s god damn time too to show it’s appeal, but it did. Black Swan Greens story is way easier to connect with but I still didn’t like it. Maybe I’m not the right target group for this kind of novel -wikipedia tells me it’s a bildungsroman, might be that’s the problem. I have never been very fascinated by coming-of-age storys, moral and psychological growth doesn’t interest me, especially that of teenagers. I need story, drama, some action, romance whatever drives the plot. Basically I want plot. I seem to recall that’s why I don’t like the opera either, not enough plot.

Random House – 2006, e-book, 294 pp, english,

Tell me shit - or don't

